ERA Fellows awarded prestigious IET Fellowships

ERA Fellows Virginia Hodge and Professor Eleanor Stride are among the sixteen world-leading engineers awarded IET Fellowships this year.

The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) Fellowship celebrates Engineers and technologists who have made an outstanding contribution to the engineering and technology industry.

Mrs Virginia Hodge, Royal Society ERA Foundation Entrepreneur in Residence, Director, Heron Associates and IET volunteer received the awar in recognition of her outstanding service to the Institution of Engineering and Technology.

Professor Eleanor Stride, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, University of Oxford, and ERA Fellow received the award in recognition of her contribution to biomedical engineering and research into the treatment of major diseases.

Speaking about all of the 2020 IET Fellows Professor Danielle George MBE, IET President explained she was “delighted that we are able to mark the outstanding achievements of these talented individuals in our 150th year, with one of the IET’s highest honours, Honorary Fellowship. As distinguished engineers and technologists, they have each excelled in their professions and have made a vast contribution as pioneers of important areas in the engineering and technology industries. They should all be very proud of their achievements – with each award being extremely well-deserved.”

The awards was officially given during Danielle George’s inaugural President’s Address ‘150 years of difference makers’ on 8 October.

A full list of the IET’s Honorary Fellows can be found on the IET’s website