Professor Dame Helen Atkinson and Professor Bashir M. Al-Hashimi join the ERA Board.

The ERA Foundation is happy to announce that Professor Dame Helen Atkinson and Professor Bashir M. Al-Hashimi have joined its board as a directors.

Professor Dame Helen Atkinson is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the School of Aerospace, Transport and Manufacturing at Cranfield University.

She was previously at the University of Leicester where she was Head of the Department of Engineering between 2012 and 2016, chaired the £17M project to rebuild the Percy Gee Students’ Union and served as Graduate Dean.

Helen was the first woman President of the Engineering Professors’ Council (the body which represents Engineering in universities throughout the UK) in its fifty-year history, served as a Vice President and Trustee of the Royal Academy of Engineering and won the Woman of Outstanding Achievement in Science, Engineering and Technology for ‘Leadership and Inspiration to Others’. She was made DBE in the Queens New Year’s Honours 2021 for services to Engineering and Education.

Helen also chairs the ‘This is Engineering’ project for the Royal Academy of Engineering, a major campaign that aims to encourage more young people to consider Engineering as a career.

Professor Bashir M. Al-Hashimi is best known for his work as energy-efficient computing and systems engineering.

He has been recognised as an outstanding academic leader and a highly influential figure in the UK HE sector, is Arm Professor of Computer Engineering and he founded the Arm-Southampton research centre. which has been used as an exemplar of industrial collaboration by the EPSRC. He received a CBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours 2018 for services to engineering and industry.

Bashir research focuses on understanding interactions between hardware and software in constrained computing systems and how such interactions are used through theory and experiment to achieve systems energy efficiency and enhanced hardware dependability. He was elected as Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2013 and is currently chair of the Academy’s Awards Committee and a member of the Board of Trustees. In April 2020, he was appointed as Executive Dean of the Faculty of Natural, Mathematical & Engineering Sciences at King’s College London after undertaking a similar Executive Dean role at the University of Southampton, where he was also a member of the University’s Executive Board.

Find out more about our board and governance.