David Clark Prize 2022

Nominations for this years David Clark Prize are now open

Each year the ERA Foundation awards two David Clark Prizes. One for teachers working in primary schools and another for teachers in secondary schools, colleges or UTCs.

The prize recognises exceptional teachers who have gone the extra mile in inspiring young people to consider engineering as a profession and career, celebrating those that have gone beyond what is required in the syllabus by inspiring students and showcasing real world engineering in the classroom.

Nominations can be made directly to the ERA Foundation or through selected partners who work with schools and colleges to promote engineering. These organisations are asked to nominate appropriate individuals based on their network of contacts within schools.

The Awards

The winner will receive a £3,000 personal award as well as £5,000 for their school to be used to promote engineering.

We hope that the prize winner will help their school or college determine how the funds should be spent.

How it works

Winners are selected based on –

  • The vision offered for a technology and design (or other STEM subjects) education that could inspire and lead to a successful career in engineering
  • The level of creativity shown in shaping their work with young people
  • The success that the teacher has had in their interaction with young people (both in terms of numbers reached and the difference this has made to them)

Evidence against the criteria to support the nomination should principally be drawn from work that has been done over the last 5 years although the Foundation will consider nominations where the case is based on a sustained contribution over a longer period.

Applicants statements are limited to 600-words and we reserve the right to decline proposals that exceed that limit.

Selection is made by a panel of ERAF Board members and it is extremely important that submissions clearly reflect the qualities of the candidates so that the panel can make accurate judgements

In addition to the written submission, candidates are encouraged to submit a short video of no more than 1 min in length showing some of the work, with contributions from students, colleagues or industry partners if appropriate.

The ERA Foundation will showcase winners’ videos through its own internet channels.

Application Deadlines 2022

Completed nominations must be submitted by Friday 4th February 2022 to andrew.everett@erafoundation.org

The Prize Winners will be agreed at the March 2020 ERA Foundation Board meeting and announced at the ERA Annual Lunch.   

Direct Applications

Please download and complete the nomination form and return to andrew.everett@erafoundation.org by Friday 4th February 2020.