ERA welcomes new chair of the board Professor Sir Christopher Snowden

On May 2nd, the ERAs board appointed Professor Sir Christopher Snowden as the new chairman of the Board of Directors, for a period of 3 years with immediate effect.

Sir Christopher has been a director of the ERA Foundation board since 1st November 2010. He is also President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Surrey, Guildford, UK and a distinguished engineer with wide experience of the international microwave and semiconductor industry.

He was Vice-President of the Royal Academy of Engineering and Chaired the Academy’s Engineering Policy Group from 2008-2013 and President of the Institute of Engineering and Technology for 2009-10.

Sir Christopher is a member of the Prime Minister’s Advisory Council for Science and Technology. He is a member of the governing body of the UK’s Technology Strategy Board and was a member of the Council of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council for six years. He is vice-president of Universities UK and Chaired the UUK Employability, Business and Industry Policy Committee for 5 years. He is a member of the Council for Industry and Higher Education and the Defence Scientific Advisory Council. He was Chair of Higher Education Research Opportunities (HERO) Ltd from 2006-8. He is a Patron of Surrey Youth Focus. He was the Chair of the Daphne Jackson Trust from 2005-9. He was a Governor of the Royal Surrey County Hospital NHS Trust.

He has been a Non-Executive of several technology companies and advises several others. He has previously held the posts of Chief Executive Officer at Filtronic plc; Head of School and personal Chair of Microwave Engineering in the School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering at the University of Leeds; Senior Staff Scientist at M/A-COM Inc. in the USA, Lecturer at the University of York and Applications Engineer at Mullard Ltd. Sir Christopher is a Fellow of the Royal Society (2005), Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering (2000), Fellow of the IEEE (1996), a Fellow of the IET (1992) and a Fellow of the City and Guilds Institute (2005).

He holds a number of awards from the Royal Academy of Engineering and the IEEE. He has published 8 books and over 300 technical papers.